Second Annual Mental Health Task Force Meeting

May 6 - 7, 2009, National Harbor, MD

In May 2009 Women In Government convened the "Second Annual Mental Health Task Force" to address the role state legislators play in advancing innovation and excellence in mental health care.  To view a full agenda from the event, click here.  To read the Task Force Recommendations, click here.

Below are presentations and handouts from the speakers at the meeting:

Mental Health Parity: Federal and State Legislation

Alexa Eggleston
Director of Public Policy
The National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare

Angela Kimball
Director of State Policy
National Alliance for Mental Illness

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

A. Kathryn Power, MEd
Director, Center for Mental Health Services

The Mental Health Transformation in Minnesota: Integrating Publicly-Financed Behavioral Health Care

Glenace Edwall, PhD, PsyD, LP, MPP
Director, Children's Mental Health Division
Minnesota Department of Human Services

Panel Presentation- Programs from the Regions

Peggy Johnson, MD
Vice Chair of Clinical Psychiatry
Boston Medical Center

Steven Levine, MD
Capital Health – Henry J. Austin Community Health Center.

Clinical Perspective on Continuum of Care in Co-Occurring Addiction and Severe Mental Illness

Oleg Tarkovsky, MA, LCPC
Clinic Director
Mosaic Community Services, Inc.

State Innovators in Mental Health Programs: “Virginia's Assertive Community Treatment Program”

Michael Shank
Director, Community Support Services
Virginaia Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services

State Innovators in Mental Health Programs: “Re-Entry Partnerships in Oklahoma”

Laura Pitman, PhD
Deputy Director of Female Offender Operations
Oklahoma Department of Corrections

State Innovators in Mental Health Programs: “Housing First”

Josh Greene, LICSW
Clinical Director
Pathways to Housing DC


spacer spacer spacer