2019 Board of Directors

Executive Committee


Senator Stacey Guerin (ME)

Senator Guerin has served in the Maine Senate since 2018 and represents District 10. She is a member of the Joint Committee on Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Commerce, and the Joint Committee on Labor and Housing.

Vice Chair

Representative Cindy Ryu (WA)

Representative Cindy Ryu is serving her 5th term in the Washington State House. While a Shoreline City Councilmember, she served as Mayor, becoming the first Korean American woman mayor in the United States. Cindy chairs the Housing, Committee Development and Veterans committee, with additional jurisdiction over Community Resilience, Emergency Preparedness, and State Parks. Cindy also serves on Consumer Protection & Business and Appropriations committees. 


Representative Jennifer Benson (MA)

Representative Benson was elected in 2009 to represent the Massachusetts 37th Middlesex District. She was first elected to public office as a member of the Lunenburg School Committee in 2003. She served for over five years on the committee and became the elected Chair. As a state representative, Rep. Benson has served as the only freshman member on the Joint Committee on Education and the Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities, and Energy. Rep. Benson is currently the chair of the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing. 


Representative Lauren Matsumoto (HI)

Representative Lauren Kealohilani Matsumoto serves as State Representative for Hawai‘i's 45th District. Rep. Matsumoto was elected to the Hawai‘i State Legislature in 2012. She sits on three House Committees: Consumer Protection and Commerce, Economic Development and Business, and Labor and Public Employment. 

Past Chair

Senator Nancy Todd (CO)

Senator Todd was elected to Colorado District 28 in 2012 after serving 8 years in the House of Representatives. She serves as the Chair of the Senate Committee on Education, the Joint Committee on Legislative Audit, and the Joint Committee on Technology. She is also a Member of the Senate Committee on Appropriations, Finance, and Transportation Legislation Review. 

Regional Directors

Western Regional Director

Representative Geran Tarr (AK)

Representative Geran Tarr was first elected to the Alaska State Legislature in 2012, representing the 19th district. Representative Tarr currently serves as the Co-Chair of the House Resources Committee, and the House Armed Services Committee. She is also a Member of the House Health & Social Services Committee, Fisheries Committee, and the Military and Veterans Affairs Committee. 

Western Regional Director

Assemblywoman Lisa Krasner (NV)

Assemblywoman Lisa Krasner was elected to the Nevada General Assembly in 2016 and serves the 26th District which includes part of Washoe. Assemblywoman Krasner serves on the Assembly Committee of the Whole, the Assembly Committee on Education, the Assembly Committee on Health and Human Services and the Assembly Committee on Judiciary.

Midwestern Regional Director

Senator Barbara Bollier (KS)

Senator Barbara Bollier represents the 7th Senate District which includes Fairway, Kansas. Senator Bollier is a ranking Minority Member of the Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare. She is a member of the Commerce, Education, and Education Finance Senate Committees and a Member of the Joint Committee on Home & Community Based Services & KanCare Oversight. Senator Bollier is also a retired doctor from Surgicenter of Kansas City. 

Midwestern Regional Director

Senator Mattie Hunter (IL)

State Senator Mattie Hunter represents the 3rd Senate District that includes Chicago, Illinois. She serves as the Vice Chair of the Senate Energy & Public Utilities Committee. Senator Hunter sits on five Senate Committees: Appropriations I, Committee of the Whole, Executive, Human Services, and Public Health. 

Eastern Regional Director

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes (MD)

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes was elected to the Maryland General Assembly in January 2015, representing District 37A. Delegate Sample-Hughes is the President of the Maryland Woman's Caucus. In the House of Delegates, she also serves on the Health & Government Operations Committee, the Subcommittee on Health Occupations and Long Term Care, the Subcommittee on Insurance and Pharmaceuticals and the Joint Committee on Behavioral Health and Opioid Use Disorders. 

Eastern Regional Director

Representative Christie Carpino (CT)

State Representative Christie Carpino represents 32nd House District that includes parts of Cromwell and Portland, Connecticut. She serves as a Member of the Joint Committee on Judiciary, Joint Committee on Public Health, and the Joint Committee on Regulation Review.

Southern Regional Director

Representative Patricia Willis (MS)

State Representative Patricia H. Willis represents the 95th House District that includes parts of Hancock and Harrison Counties, Mississippi. She serves as the Chair of the Drug Policy Committee. Representative Willis serves on ten House Committees: Appropriations, Corrections, Gaming, Judiciary B, Judiciary En Banc, Marine Resources, Military Affairs, Ports, Harbors and Airports, Public Property, and Tourism. 

Southern Regional Director

Senator Gloria Butler (GA)

State Senator Gloria Butler represents the 55th Senate District that includes parts of DeKalb County, Georgia. She serves on seven Senate Committees: Ethics, Health and Human Services, Reapportionment and Redistricting, Rules, State and Local Government Operations, Transportation, and Urban Affairs.