Women In Government Board of Directors

Meet Our 2021-2022 Board of Directors!

Executive Committee


Representative Cindy Ryu (WA)

Rep. Cindy Ryu is serving her 6th term in the 32nd House District.  She chairs the Community and Economic Development Committee with additional jurisdiction over community resilience, emergency preparedness, parks & recreation, telecommunications, broadband, and tourism. Chair Ryu also serves on the Consumer Protection & Business and Appropriations Committees, WA Tourism Marketing Authority, Pacific NW Economic Region, CSG Leadership Council and is completing her last year as Chair of Overseas Korean Politicians Council. 

Vice Chair

Representative Lauren Matsumoto (HI)

Representative Lauren Matsumoto currently serves Hawai‘i’s 31st House District. Representative Matsumoto currently serves on the Consumer Protection & Commerce Committee, Agriculture Committee, Transportation Committee, and the Energy and Environmental Protection Committee. Representative Matsumoto is a coconvener of the Hawai’i Women’s Legislative Caucus. 


Representative Geran Tarr (AK)

Representative Geran Tarr currently represents Alaska’s 19th House District and currently serves as the Co-Chair of the House Resources Committee and the Joint Armed Services Committee. She is also a Member of the House Fish & Game Finance Subcommittee, Fisheries Committee, Natural Resources Subcommittee, and the Health & Social Services Finance Subcommittee.


Representative Christie Carpino (CT)

State Representative Christie Carpino is the House Republican Caucus Chair and currently serves the 32nd House District. Representative Carpino serves on the Public Health Committee, the Government Administration and Elections Committee, the Regulations and Review Committee, as well as the Legislative Management Committee.

Immediate Past Chair

Senator Stacey Guerin (ME)

Senator Stacey Guerin currently serves House District 10 in Maine. Senator Guerin also currently serves on the Joint Committee on Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Business, and the Joint Committee on Labor and Housing. 

Regional Directors

Western Regional Director

Assemblywoman Lisa Krasner (NV)

Assemblywoman Lisa Krasner serves House District 26 which includes part of Washoe. Assemblywoman Krasner currently serves on the Assembly Education Committee, Assembly Health and Human Services Committee, and the Assembly Judiciary Committee.

Midwestern Regional Director

Senator Mattie Hunter (IL)

Senate Majority Caucus Chair Senator Mattie Hunter currently represents the 3rd Senate District that includes Chicago, Illinois. Senator Hunter serves as Chair of the Executive Committee, Vice-Chair of the Transportation Committee and Chair of the Subcommittee on Special Issues (EX). She is also a member of the Appropriations I Committee, Committee of the Whole, Energy and Public Utilities Committee, Human Services Committee, Special Committee on Opioid Crisis Abatement, Public Health Committee and the Subcommittee on Special Issues (HS).

Midwestern Regional Director

Representative Patricia Pike (MO)

Representative Patricia Pike currently serves House District 126 which includes Vernon County and the majority of Bates County, located south of Kansas City, Missouri. Representative Pike currently serves as the Chair of the Joint Committee on Public Employee Retirement as well as the Chair of the House Pensions Committee. She also currently serves on the Consent and House Procedure Committee, the Veterans Committee, and the Special Committee on Aging. Representative Pike held the position of president of the Women Legislators of Missouri organization from 2019-2020.

Southern Regional Director

Senator Gloria Butler (GA)

State Senator Gloria Butler represents the 55th Senate District that includes parts of DeKalb County, Georgia. Senator Butler is the Chair of the Senate Democratic Caucus and serves as Secretary for the State and Local Governmental Operations Committee and the Urban Affairs Committee. Other Committee memberships include: the Ethics Committee, the Health and Human Services Committee, the Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee, the Rules Committee, and the Transportation Committee

Southern Regional Director

Representative Heather Crawford (SC)

Representative Heather Crawford was elected to office in 2012 representing District 68. She currently serves on the Ethics and Ways and Means Committees in the 123rd South Carolina General Assembly. Representative Crawford currently sits on two Subcommittees; the Budget Subcomittee on Healthcare as well as the Economic Devleopment Subcommittee.

Eastern Regional Director

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes (MD)

Speaker Pro Tempore Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes was elected to the Maryland General Assembly in January 2015, representing District 37A. In the House of Delegates, she also serves on Health and Government Operations Committee and the Rules and Executive Nominations Committee. Delegate Sample-Hughes is the President of the Maryland Woman's Caucus.

Eastern Regional Director

Senator Patricia Rucker (WV)

Senator Patricia Rucker serves West Virginia Senate District 16. Senator Rucker currently serves as Chair of the Education Committee. Senator Rucker serves on the following committees in the West Virginia Legislature: Agriculture and Rural Development Committee, Banking and Insurance Committee, Children and Families, Select Committee on Confirmations, Health and Human Resources Committee, Judiciary Committee, Natural Resources Committee, and the Workforce Committee.