WIG Webinar: The Impact of America’s Osteoporosis Crisis on States

Event Date(s): 
Monday, May 17, 2021
Location: 
Via Zoom
Event category: 

The Impact of America’s Osteoporosis Crisis on States

Monday, May 17, 2021
3:00pm ET
(2:00pm CT/1:00pm MT/12:00pm PT/11:00am Alaska/9:00am Hawaii)
 
Moderated by:
Florida State Representative Jackie Toledo
Panelists:
Claire Gill, CEO of the National Osteoporosis Foundation
Andrea J. Singer, MD, FACP, CCD, NOF Chief Medical Officer, Director of Women's Primary Care, Director of Bone Densitometry and Fracture Liaison Service, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
 
In partnership with the National Osteoporosis Foundation (FOF), this WIG Policy Roundtable reviews the first ever state-by-state data on the economic and human impact of osteoporotic fractures, revealing significant variation by state and by race and ethnicity and what legislators can do to have an impact. The total annual cost for osteoporotic fractures was estimated at $57 billion in 2018 and is expected to grow to over $95 billion in 2040, as our population ages.
 
 
Bone Health Resources: