WIG Webinar: Protecting Moms and Babies: Removing State Level Barriers to Maternal Immunization

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, December 9, 2021 at 10:00 am ET; 9:00 am CT/8:00 am MT/7:00 am PT/6:00 am Alaska/5:00 am Hawaii
Location: 
Via Zoom
Event category: 

Protecting Moms and Babies: Removing State Level Barriers to Maternal Immunization

Maternal immunization is an essential part of prenatal care, offering important protection to both mother and baby. Yet, despite public health guidelines and well-established clinical safety and benefits that support immunization, according to the most recent CDC data, only 30.7 percent of expecting mothers receive both of the vaccines recommended during pregnancy—and in some populations this number is even lower.

On Thursday, December 9, 2021 at 10:00 am ET,  join Women in Government, vaccine and public health experts and authors of a recent white paper on maternal vaccination barriers for a virtual policy round-table event that focuses on pressing challenges and promising opportunities to improve maternal immunization at the state level

 
Moderated by: Georgia State Senator Gloria Butler, Southern Regional Director, WIG Board of Directors
 
 
Featuring: 
  • Karen Crowley, Vice President- Nursing Education, Research and Practice, Association of Women’s Health, Obstetrics and Neonatal Nurses
  • LJ Tan, Chief of Strategy Officer for the Immunization Action Coalition
  • Gretchen C. Wartman, Vice President for Policy and Program for the National Minority Quality Forum

Register today!