Current State Directors

State Directors are Women In Government’s go-to ambassadors in the states. As our legislative leaders, along with our Board of Directors, they keep us informed about pressing policy issues in their state and ensure that we are meeting the needs of our legislator members. 

As a non-partisan organization, Women In Government aims to have party parity in all leadership positions, with up to 4 State Directors in each state from both chambers (if applicable) with all parties represented.  Women In Government is committed to party parity and diversity, equity, and inclusion in all forms.

Women In Government is asking for female state legislators to self-nominate or nominate a new female state legislator to serve in a leadership position as a Women In Government State Director. Click here or see below to see list of current 2021 State Directors and vacancies.

All final nomination confirmations will be approved by the Women In Government Board of Directors.

Electronic State Director Nomination Form (fillable Google Form)

2022 State Director Nomination Form including list and vacancies (download paper form)

Please submit paper nomination forms to Laura Blake, Outreach & Development Manager, via email ( or complete the electronic State Director nomination form linked above.

State Director Responsibilities:

  • When possible, attend Women In Government national conferences
  • Provide input for the topical agendas for Women In Government for the calendar year
  • Assist in the dissemination of Women In Government information to fellow legislators, especially to newly elected or appointed legislators
  • Actively participate in fundraising efforts in her State
  • Actively assist in identifying policy areas of interest in her State

State Director Benefits:

  • Be in leadership pipeline for WIG Board of Directors
  • Opportunity to moderate or facilitate WIG programming
  • Opportunity to be featured in WIG social media

2022 WIG State Directors: 

Alabama (S):

Representative Laura Hall (D)

3 open seats

Alaska (W)

Rep. Sara Hannan (D)

Arizona (W)

Rep. Jennifer Pawlik (D)

Sen. Victoria Steele (D)

2 open seats

Arkansas (S)

Rep. Deborah Ferguson (D)

3 open seats

California (W)

4 Open Seats

Colorado (W)

Rep. Dafna Michaelson Jenet (D)

Rep. Kim Ransom (R)

2 Open Seats

Connecticut (E)

Rep. Michelle Cook (D)

Rep. Robyn Porter (D)

2 Open Seats

Delaware (E)

4 Open Seats

Florida (S)

Rep. Jackie Toledo (R)

Rep. Marie Woodson (D)

Sen. Lori Berman (D)

Georgia (S)

Rep. Karen Bennett (D)

Rep. Sheila Jones (D)

Sen. Tonya Anderson (D)

1 Open Seat

Hawaii (W)

Sen. Donna Mercado Kim (D)

3 Open Seats

Idaho (W)

Rep. Tammy Nichols (R)

Rep. Julie Yamamoto (R)

Sen. Christine Zito (R)

1 Open Seats

Illinois (M)

Rep. Sonya Harper (D)

Sen. Cristina Castro (D)

2 Open Seats

Indiana (M)

4 Open Seats

Iowa (M)

Rep. Mary Mascher (D)

3 Open Seats

Kansas (M)

Rep. Stephanie Clayton (D)

Sen. Elaine Bowers (R)

Sen. Pat Pettey (D)

1 Open Seat

Kentucky (S)

Sen. Alice Forgy Kerr (R)

3 Open Seats

Louisiana (S)

Rep. Aimee Adatto Freeman (D)

Sen. Regina Barrow (D)

2 Open Seats

Maine (E)

Rep. Michelle Dunphy (D)

Sen. Susan Deschambault (D)

Sen. Lisa Keim (R)

Sen. Kim Rosen (R)

Maryland (E)

Del. Chanel Branch (D)

Del. Nicole Williams (D)

2 Open Seats

Massachusetts (E)

Rep. Kimberly Ferguson (R)

Rep. Danielle Gregoire (D)

Rep. Hannah Kane (R)

Sen. Harriette Chandler (D)

Michigan (M)

Rep. Sarah Anthony (D)

3 Open Seats

Minnesota (M)

Sen. Sandy Pappas (D)

3 Open Seats

Mississippi (S)

Rep. Omeria Scott (D)

3 Open Seats

Missouri (M)

Rep. Jo Doll (D)

3 Open Seats

Montana (W)

Rep. Andrea Olsen (D)

Sen. JP Pomnichowski (D)

2 Open Seats

Nebraska (M)

Sen. Anna Wishart (NP)

3 Open Seats

Nevada (W)

Sen. Dallas Harris (D)

3 Open Seats

New Hampshire (E)

Rep. Fran Nutter-Upham (D)

3 Open Seats

New Jersey (E)

Asm. Pamela Lampitt (D)

Asm. Shavonda Sumter (D)

2 Open Seats

New Mexico (W)

Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D)

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D)

2 Open Seats

New York (E)

4 Open Seats

North Carolina (S)

4 Open Seats

North Dakota (M)

Rep. Pamela Anderson (D)

Sen. Joan Heckaman (D)

2 Open Seats

Ohio (M)

Rep. Bride Rose Sweeney (D)

Sen. Nickie Antonio (D)

2 Open Seats

Oklahoma (M)

Rep. Jadine Nollan (R)

Rep. Melissa Provenzano (D)

Sen. Jessica Garvin (R)

Sen. Carri Hicks (D)

Oregon (W)

4 Open Seats

Pennsylvania (E)

Rep. Donna Oberlander (R)

3 Open Seats

Rhode Island (E)

Rep. Barbara Ann Fenton-Fung (R)

Rep. Deborah Ruggiero (D)

2 Open Seats

South Carolina (S)

Rep. Beth Bernstein (D)

Rep. Annie McDaniel (D)

2 Open Seats

South Dakota (M)

4 Open Seats

Tennessee (S)

Rep. Mary Littleton (R)

Sen. Raumesh Akbari (D)

Sen. Brenda Gilmore (D)

Sen. Becky Massey (R)

Texas (W)

Rep. Alma Allen (D)

Rep. Toni Rose (D)

2 Open Seats

Utah (W)

Rep. Clare Collard (D)

Sen. Karen Mayne (D)

2 Open Seats

Vermont (E)

Rep. Felisha Leffler (R)

Rep. Linda Joy Sullivan (D)

2 Open Seats

Virginia (S)

4 Open Seats

Washington (W)

Rep. Gina Mosbrucker (R)

Sen. Patty Kuderer (D)

2 Open Seats

West Virginia (E)

4 Open Seats

Wisconsin (M)

Rep. Lisa Subeck (D)

3 Open Seats

Wyoming (W)

4 Open Seats